October 15, 2007

Thank you for the ride…

Posted in celebrities, funny, personal, review, TV at 10:48 pm by Salah

(If you don’t want to spoil the last episode of King of Queens’ finale, don’t read this post)

Ever since I discovered “The king of Queens” I became obsessed with the show and, specifically, with Kevin James. I don’t even know how to start describing how much I love that show.

Whenever it’s lunch or dinner time and I am staying home, there is a 99% chance that I will be watching “The King of Queens” while eating. This is a habit that I think I can’t get it off me. I won’t be able to start eating unless I found the perfect episode of the show.

When I began watching the show, I started on few seasons later. But then I went all the way to season one and watched it from there to season nine.

My obsession grew more and more as I moved to the next seasons.

Untill one day I realized that I watched every single episode of the show, except for season nine. I got furious that none of the channels I had were playing season nine. However, I realized then it was already on DVD.

A friend of mine told me that he mistakenly over heard someone talking about the last episode of the show, and he was shocked of what he heard that he got mad because it was spoiled. Now I got very eager to watch the show.

I rented the season finale and started watching it on the night of first day of eid.

I knew that by season nine the actors will look older, but I never thought I would feel sad to see them getting old. Kevin James looked old. Man, I was so depressed when I saw him old. Don’t get me wrong, he didn’t look 100 years old. But For me, one of his biggest fans, he looked old. I got used to the Doug who was the fat cool guy. The guy who had his signatures like saying “Relaxesyoooon.” I know that if you don’t watch King of Queens a lot you wouldn’t understand the Relaxesyooon, and my advise is don’t bother unless you hear it from Doug. Where is Doug the fat guy that jumps, runs, and dances like an athlete?

While watching the first episode, I noticed that the show is not “The King of Queens” that I have been watching. It was a show of “The end of King of Queens.” I couldn’t find myself laughing like I would on the previous seasons. What the hell is going on?

I thought then that the whole production people realized that they were supposed to end the show on season eight and not nine. So they said let’s end the show on season nine with only two DVDs and a total of 11 episodes. Then I felt even more sad. Because the whole cast were trying their best to be like they were on the previous seasons, but they can’t be the same perfectly.

I got mad, and I announced to my friend that season nine is the worst season for the whole show. The jokes and the acting were not well done. My friend’s eyes almost jumped off onto my lap when he heard me saying that. “You would say that?!” he asked me.

I couldn’t complete the season, so I skipped 3 or 4 episodes to jump to the last 3 episodes to see how the show is going to end.

And there it was. Doug almost divorced Cary because that she lied to him, and they were going to go to China to adopt a baby. However, they got back together and went to China to adopt the baby, and there, Cary realized she was pregnant. The episode then shows a picture of their house in Queens and in the bottom there is a line saying “One year later..” Inside the house you’ll see Cary holding a baby and Doug chasing the other while the house is filled with baby stuff. The episode ends, and I wasn’t very interested with the ending. But then, there was Doug looking really young running down the stairs to his new large TV hugging it and saying “I love you” to it.

I was surprised about that part, but then a song came up. The song was “Milk and Honey” for million/billion. While the song was playing, there was like a montage for the whole show playing, showing a lot of things from season one to season nine. It was like watching my memories along with the show. The song then ends as well as the montage, followed with a black screen and a white sentence saying “Thank you for the ride…”


And then I realized how much I loved that show. I realized that I have never ever in my life got obsessed that much about an actor like Kevin James. I am going to miss everyone in that show, Spence, Danny, Deacon, Kelly, Arthur. I am going to miss them all. Even though Ricci was out of the show very early, I am going to miss him. I will miss Doug and Cary’s house, IPS, Coopers and every single place they usually went to.

Kevin James has always been able to put a smile on my face. And watching Kevin James in season nine looking older, made me feel really sad. It made me miss Doug. I’ll miss the King of Queens.

This is one of my favorite clips from the show season 1. Enjoy.

4 Comments »

  1. chikapappi said,

    I am not that crazy about him bas :p

  2. sar7an said,

    you have just stuck a knife into my heart!

    bel 3araby 6a3anteney!

  3. Janie Lucas said,

    logogogue fancysick smectis saturnism corybantic woolgatherer physicomorphic affronting
    The City of Truro Chamber of Commerce – Cornwall UK
    http://www.isb.gov.uk

  4. logogogue fancysick smectis saturnism corybantic woolgatherer physicomorphic affronting
    Security Council to address Iraqi document dispute
    http://www.herbal-gardens.com/bach.htm


Leave a Reply

