August 29, 2008

Quitting smoking

Posted in personal, video games at 2:28 pm by Salah

Smoking for over three years on a daily basis is a long time.

Yesterday I threw away my pack that had about seven cigarettes in it, and started my new era of a life with no smokes. It has been now 8:15 hours since last time I had a cigarette in my mouth.

It is kind of hard not to crave for a cigarette in moments where I’m used to smoke within. Take me right now for example; I’m used to smoke while I’m typing a topic for my blog, or searching for something online, or doing anything on my laptop. As long as I’m in front of my laptop, I should have a cigarette hanging on the edge of an ashtray and smoke covering the sky of my place. There many different places, times, and situations where I usually can’t go through without my cigarette.

Damn it I just turned myself on for a cigarette!

Well, I guess I brought this to myself when I started smoking.

Anyhow, I’m thinking of using some strategies to avoid craving for a cigarette; like playing video games whenever I’m thinking of smoking. Even though video gaming is one of the most times where I smoke, it is helpful to distract me from thinking of smoking, and also it is not easy to smoke while playing. I think GTA IV will be a hit during these few days for me.

I’ll be thinking of more strategies and I’ll try to post them so that it might help others who want to quit smoking.

Good luck to all the brothers and sisters out there who are quitting smoking. And my heart is broken to those who are just beginning to smoke.

9 Comments »

  1. chika said,

    enshallah you can manage :)

  2. Salah W said,

    Well done

    :)

    Consider using Nicotine Replacement Therapy (NRT) gums or patches. They can really help.
    Basically, NRT will keep the nicotine level high enough in your circulation and this will prevent craving.
    And feel free to ask a health care professional for help. Use their skills. Doctors… nurses… pharmacists.
    They will help you to succeed in getting rid of this habit.

    Regards

  3. Salah said,

    Chika–Thanks for your support. I need all that I can get.

    Bo9loo7 W–dude your support and encouragement have been great and hopefully I’ll be able to pay you back. Bravo again!

  4. Michael said,

    I quit smoking the last time many years ago. It was not a lot of fun, but people stop smoking every day.

    The little edge that makes the difference is how you feel about quitting. It sounds as if you are quitting because you want to. Wanting to quit instead of having to quit makes all the difference.

    Just keep looking forward and don’t let any slips make you regress to where you were before yesterday. If you don’t think you can get through the next time period, cut that time in half, even if it is only the next one minute.

    We go through life second by second, and it takes time for three years of seconds to become part of your past history. You can do it!

  5. Salah said,

    Michael–you seem to be really touched by quitting smoking, and I can’t wait to meet you in this level.

  6. chika said,

    kel 3am o enta bkheeeeeeeeeeeeeeir

  7. Salah said,

    wentey b9e7a ew salama

  8. F said,

    It’s been 2 months since this post and I reeeally hope you kept your word and quit smoking for real. The other day I had a class about cancer and you’d be very shocked by the things that can be brought upon by smoking, not just cancer. May God bless you and keep you safe and strong.

  9. Salah said,

    Right now I’m the least proud of myself ever. I didn’t quit smoking totally, but I sure cut back a hell lot of smoking than these days.


Leave a Reply

