November 4, 2011

Karbala

Posted in occasions, personal, Travel at 1:58 pm by Salah

Since the situation in Karbala at Imam Hussein’s courtyard is under strict security and protection, phones are not allowed inside. Thus, my phone always stayed home. Today however, I decided that I’ll go through the hassle and leave my phone at the valubales boxes (not sure about the term, but it’s like safety boxes). Everyone told me it’s going to delay us, but it took no more than 10 secs to give them the phone and receive a traceable box number.

After we finished our rituals, we got out, took the phone and we all were happy that we had a chance to take photos. But I was also happy that now I can show my friends the old methods they use to sell consumable goods.

The pic is for a ciggerate stand and a sammoon (bread, or pretzels) stand at the street of qeblat imam hussein. At least ten scenes I passed by made me wish that I brought my DSLR to get those good shots I always wanted.

1 Comment »

  1. Salah W said,

    Good to see you blogging again…

    Pray for me while you’re in Karbala


Leave a Reply

